Posted by: seserdr1975 | September 15, 2013

So why this journey?

There are those who would call me a “success story” as someone who deals with Cerebral Palsy. I don’t know about that, I know I have tried to live my life as best as I can and give back to those who face challenges in their own life.  I learned that life lesson from my family. I guess that’s where it starts. Family. Family gives you something to show your successes and and help you through your failures. Family isn’t just blood relatives though. It is anyone in your life that supports you, drives you to succeed. In fact I have two loving parents, an older sister and a brother, that prior to 1993, I didn’t know. My friend Rob, is my brother. We may have different parents, but we are there for each other and with both would take bullets for the other. That type of support system, helps drive this journey. It is in some ways journey of self discovery, while connecting to those who travel down a similar road. I believe that this journey will make me stronger. At least I hope so!

I’ll admit to this, I have been always very self conscious about my CP. Embarrassed, maybe a little. I just don’t like that fact that some people look at you with, pity, fear…or what have you. Like jumping off a cliff, you have to face those fears head on. My goal is not just to have a better practical understanding of my CP, but how it relates to others, and how finally just accepting that this is something that I have to deal with will, without question help me be a better tool for others who deal with CP. How to adapt….how to manage day to day…and how to deal with those tougher situations both physically and emotionally.

Leave a Reply

Categories

