Posted by: seserdr1975 | September 15, 2013

Who am I today?

cropped-melme2.jpgThat’s me with the Uncle Fester haircut with my wife Melanie. We met online in Arizona back in 2009 and on March 28, 2010 we were married in front of our family and friends. She is my rock, she is my life. She has taught me what real perseverance is through the challenges she faces. You see, Mel has Epilepsy. When we got together we joked that we were a couple of defective Pintos! We both had our “thing” that we had to deal with. From that moment, I dropped my guard. I didn’t have to feel self conscious and I knew that she would accept me for me. Not for what I deal with. I totally and completely love her for that.  I work for a bank as a business analyst,  reporting to the government as well as within the business, that helps keep my brain working as much as it can. Physically, I can’t complain…..much. I deal with right side Spastic Hemiplegia. At least that the “formal” diagnosis over the last 38 years. I’ve had four orthopedic surgeries over the years on my right arm, leg and both my hips for bursitis that probably came from my gait that I deal with. I do feel good, but there are good days, better days and then not so good days. Headache’s and muscle tension makes me feel wound up like a rubber band. I’m sure many of those who read this understand that one. As I get closer to 40, I find that things are a bit tougher, more “wound up” and now I’m looking to “take the fight” to the CP.

**That’s today’s lesson. One I’m just figuring out now. Never be complacent or accepting that your condition is “what it is”. While there isn’t a MAGIC BULLET out there that can cure me, I know that there are things that I can do everyday to help improve my quality of life.  Look for treatment’s, Dr.s, medicine and therapy that might ease some of the daily symptoms. They may all work. None might work. Either way it’s ok, I’m letting myself try work towards a better understanding of my condition. If you can’t do it yourself, get an advocate. A friend, spouse, BF, GF or a neighbor it doesn’t matter. Don’t just accept that what is, is how it will always be.

Info:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cerebral_palsy

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spastic_cerebral_palsy

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spastic_hemiplegia

http://www.cerebralpalsysource.com/Treatment_and_Therapy/index.html

Responses

  1. My Love, I am so proud of you for starting this blog. YOU are MY rock, my life.


Leave a Reply

Categories

