Posted by: seserdr1975 | September 25, 2013

Boots On the Ground

Today was great! I had the opportunity to talk to Nancy Atwood, the founder of http://www.chasa.org. If there was ever a great advocate, its her. We had the chance to share our stories, challenges and concerns for the Cerebral Palsy community at large. I hope to help them as much as I can create more awareness and get more boots on the ground.

I think that was one of my biggest challanges growing up and into adulthood, finding as many support systems that there are to help navigate life with CP. When I was a kid, I had my parents and I was lucky enough to in 1977-78 to meet Dr. Wilfred Krom. Dr. Krom who was affiliated with Orthopedic Hospital in Los Angeles,CA performed 4 surgeries on my right arm and leg. There was never a time I was scared in his care. He made it easy for me to understand what needed to be done and gave my parents peice of mind. I dont if he was the best in his field. But he was the best for me, and I am forever grateful for all he did for me.

 

Dr. Krom was part of my army to fight through the day to day challenges. Thats what we all need. BOOTS ON THE GROUND. Patients, advocates, doctors and parents communicating with each other to and creating as much awarness through support groups and social media. It will be my hope to build a local Dallas support group for not just parents, but for kids/teens and young adults to help navigate through those day to day challenges.

Leave a Reply

Categories

