Posted by: seserdr1975 | October 7, 2013

Frustration Mounts.

Afternoon all! I hope everyone had a good weekend.

So my Mom has been helping me find a local doctor that will review my case and look for ongoing  therapy. One Dr. suggested Plano Orthopedic. The have Dr’s who specialize in different areas of the body. Shoulder, arm, legs, knees and ankles. I contacted them last week and requested a appointment and consultation. The response I got back was “Our physicians are unable to treat patients with Cerebral Palsy. We refer you to Baylor University Medical Center in Dallas. Call to schedule an appointment.”  Unable. Unable? Or unwilling?  Talk about getting the first class brush off. This is now the 4th physician group that has refused a consult regarding my current condition.

There are so many like me. None or almost no cognitive impairment, with physical challenges that need need regular therapy. In cases like that, the response I get is “unable”. How about being “unable” to lift thing equally with both hands, or being “unable” to button up a shirt with the weaker hand.

Time to schedule with my general physician and see if they can hook me up with therapy. As Dory says in Finding Nemo, “Keeeep Swimmin’, gotta keeeep swimming!”.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

