Posted by: seserdr1975 | October 15, 2013

When in the Course of My Events

So a few months ago, I woke up rubbed the sleep from my eyes, staggered into the bathroom and washed my face. As I dried up, I looked at the mirror, and I had such a peculiar feeling. In an odd way I didn’t recognize the face looking back at me. Kinda startled me. I had been dealing with the blues during the week. This was first week of July. Both of my Grandparents, on my Moms side died in ’06 and ’07 during this week.

In my 38 years, I have become far more cognizant of how quickly time flies. The one thing I realized was how much I missed my Grandma and Grandpa. They never judged me. I never questioned how much they loved me. I don’t think I ever remember any time that I ever talked to them about my CP. I was never was their disabled Grandson. I was just their Grandson.

If there was one thing in my 38 years that I know, is that being a CP patient, you tend to take solace in your family. Value that support. Value that love.  Once those family members are gone, they’re gone.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

